THE DIVING CONTROL BOARD

The Diving Control Board (DCB) is a policy making body for diving on the UCSC Campus, and is responsible to the Chancellor through the Director of the Institute of Marine Sciences and Dean of Natural Sciences.

The DCB provides focus and guidance to the Diving Officer, and has responsibility to: establish and/or approve training programs and diving projects; recommend changes in policy and procedure; review and approve proposals for research and OPERS programs which require diving under UCSC auspices; recommend new equipment or techniques; review, revise, and assure compliance with the diving safety manual.

The DCB also acts as a Board of Appeal to consider diver-related problems; periodically reviews the Diving Officer's performance and program; takes disciplinary actions for unsafe practices; suspends diving programs which it considers to be unsafe or unwise; and serves as a Board of Investigation to inquire into the nature and cause of diving accidents and violations of the UCSC diving safety manual.

The DCB is made up of faculty members, the DSO, OPERS scuba instructor, an undergraduate student, a graduate student, Environmental Health and Safety person, LML staff person, and staff researchers.

For more information about DCB meetings, minutes from previous meetings, UCSC diving policy, or for questions about the DCB, please contact the Diving Safety Program office (831-459-4286).

 


Diving Control Board Members
 

DCB Chair and Faculty Representative: Mark Carr

Professor, Department of Biology (carr@biology.ucsc.edu)

Faculty Representative: Giacomo Bernardi

Professor, Department of Biology (bernardi@biology.ucsc.edu)

Faculty Representative: Roger Linington

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry (rogerl@chemistry.ucsc.edu)

Research Group Representative: Steven Loveridge

Crews Lab Group, Department of Chemistry (sloverid@chemistry.ucsc.edu)

Research Group Representative: Mike Kenner

Marine Technician, Dept. of Biology and USGS (mkenner@ucsc.edu)

Graduate Student Representative: Brenna Mahoney

Graduate Student, Department of Biology (brennamahoney@gmail.com)

Staff Representative: Steve Davenport

Director, Long Marine Lab (sldaven@ucsc.edu)

Research Group Representative: Helen O'Brien

Potts Lab Group, Department of Biology (obrien@biology.ucsc.edu)

Undergraduate Representative: Zach Randell

Undergraduate, Department of EEB (zrandell@ucsc.edu)

EH&S Representative: Conrad Sherman

Radiation Safety Officer - EH&S, (csherma1@ucsc.edu)

Aquarium Diving Program: Traci Kendall

Mammal Trainer, Long Marine Lab, (kendall@biology.ucsc.edu)

NOAA Representative: Steve Lonhart

SIMoN/MBNMS, (Steve.Lonhart@noaa.gov)

OPERS Scuba Program Representative: Cecilia Shin

OPERS, Program Director, (cecil@ucsc.edu)

Assistant Diving Safety Officer: Dave Benet

Diving Safety Program (benet@ucsc.edu)

Diving Safety Officer: Steve Clabuesch

Diving Safety Program (srclabue@ucsc.edu)